Starting Capture the Flag Rooms

Photo by Riku Lu on Unsplash

Starting Capture the Flag Rooms

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Disclaimer: Still a beginner, this is my own opinion.

I am no experts in this but Capture the Flag or doing CTF rooms such HTB or THM are awesome. My experience so far in them is good. It is hard for me even to do the easy rooms, but I was able to get through to them. What do I mean? It is not giving up and keep trying. Here are some tips:

Google: I can't say enough about this. I have to go to Google to search a lot on how to use a command or understand a technology concept to get a flag.

YouTube: YouTube channel as Cyber Mentor and John Hammond are awesome to wathc. There are other security channels but those two are my favorites. I am not sure about other people, but I like to watch them, and they will explain on how attacks work and sometimes they do CTF's. It helps me understand or at least try to get in the mindset of an attacker.

Fundamentals: - I still lack some fundamentals when doing CTF's but my strategy is doing the room but go look at the fundamental at the same time. It is not the greatest strategy, but it helps me.

Join a Group or Community: I think joining a group/community and doing CTF helps a lot, at least for me. It helps when someone is doing it with you, and you are helping each other.

This is not a technical blog but just my experience so far doing these CTF's rooms. If anyone have any tips or want to share their journey, comment down below. In addition, this video really helps me understand what I want to do in the security world. It is a talk with Network Chuck and John Hammond.

[Network Chuck and John Hammond Talk] (youtube.com/watch?v=5dxuppvclxE)